Odin (Valkjosandi)

[I’m sharing how I’ve known and interacted with Everyone, starting with the Aesir. The Vanir will be next, then the Rokkr, and then the category where I put those Who don’t seem to pick just one category.]

When I first introduced myself to Odin, it was more a matter of being polite. He’s quite popular in being talked about, and I figured I could at least try to see if He was interested in doing anything. I approached Him as a God of Military Service, so He was hailed on certain days relating to honoring those who have served (4th of July, Veteran’s Day, etc.) in addition to having a poem / prayer read to Him once a week on Wednesdays.

I wrote two prayers that are more specific to how I interacted with Him and that haven’t been shared publicly yet. I’m waiting to see if they may be accepted into someone’s devotional for Odin before sharing, but I do currently have permission to eventually share them. The other four pieces are poems that don’t actually involve a Deity and/or prayer.

  1.  Victory Stuff by Robert Service
  2.  Dulce Et Decorum Est by Wilfred Owen
  3.  The March of the Dead by Robert Service
  4.  Beautiful Wreckage by W. D. Ehrhart

I was first exposed to #2 and 4 through the Poetry Out Loud competition that I had to do while in high school (required for my English class). I actually enjoyed it and chose to compete my Junior and Senior years, even though I wasn’t in a class that required it. Because my grandfather likes Robert Service, I have a book of his poetry, so that’s how I ran into #1 and 3.

Blood offerings run the gamut of being highly controversial to being utterly commonplace depending on who you’re talking to. I’m probably going to end up sharing my thoughts concerning this topic in a separate post, but I do include blood offerings in my practice. I personally only go the route of dedicating pints of blood that are being donated through the Red Cross in order to do this, though. Since I already had experience with donating blood, I didn’t really see a big deal with agreeing to this route as an offering to a Deity.

Odin wanted blood offerings as part of honoring military service members who had given their life for their country, and He very specifically wanted a minimum amount of pints donated – 3. Since one pint can save up to three people’s lives, I figured asking for three pints had some sort of tie in with 9 being connected to Him. Donating blood doesn’t necessarily happen frequently, though, and there are reasons for being turned away from donating, so I haven’t gotten to donating His three pints yet.

This post has been written from of stance of having interacted with Odin in the past. Last summer, I was given an offer of entering into a devotional power dynamic with Odin. Since I was only getting an offer, the only hint as to what He wanted was that He wanted to be the Dom*. I had a date that I could make the decision by, but I ended up internally shifting to ‘no’ prior to it and received a dream message from Odin (in late July / early Aug, since the post I shared this in is dated 8.4.14).

The setup of the dream was that I was attending a ritual where Odin was being Horsed, and we both knew from previous dreams of this nature with other Deities how I react to Deities. [In these dreams, I’ve felt a pressure build to the point that I can’t fight against kneeling and wind up kneeling before the Horsed Deity.]

In this dream with Odin, I was able to confidently walk to where His Horse was sitting and stand completely upright with feet shoulder width apart. Odin wanted to be my Dom*, but it didn’t take much to point out that He just pushed me into Domspace, and I couldn’t submit to Him. He accepted our incompatibility and let me know how we would proceed.

The way we proceeded was by ending the devotional relationship and Odin Leaving. I hadn’t had a Deity Leave before, so I did my best in trying to cover all the areas that might need addressing. I’ve since come up with a Leaving Questionnaire to make sure I cover everything, and have done a posthumous version for Odin. (How I know I can share those two prayers, for example.)

The main considerations: I need to donate 3 pints of blood, but only that amount now. I am not to interact with the rune spirits, which means divination via runes is a no go. In some cases of other Norse Deities wanting me to use a bindrune, I may do so, but that’s it. I’m also couldn’t interact with any Aesir that I hadn’t already interacted with before the relationship with Odin ended.

I hadn’t run into the Comet-shard Theory at this time, and I’ve only recently run into the talk of Hats / Faces. When Beth shared her 30 Days of Devotion: Day 7 post (covering epithets, by-names, etc.), I ended up finding out that the version of Odin I had been interacting with was just one Face that had turned away – Valkjosandi “Chooser of the Slain”. This post would be a bit unwieldy if I tried to include the rest of the information, but I basically found out that the tweaks in rules recently has been because of a new Face being turned to me.

Leave a Reply

