Hela

[I’m sharing how I’ve known and interacted with Everyone, starting with the Aesir. The Vanir will be next, then the Rokkr, and then the category where I put those Who don’t seem to pick just one category.]

I pay my respects to Hela, but there have been times in the past when She’s refused to use the label ‘devotional relationship’ for my interaction with Her. The basic premise that I’ve used to describe what She wants me to do (in the past):

Don’t be a dick; live a good life; etc. I may or may not be sent to Her for Assignments at some future point.

Other than that, I honor my ancestors for Her. No one is required to do so in order to interact with Deities, Powers, Spirits, etc., and not having an ancestor practice is okay. However, I don’t have a horrible relationship with most of them, so I decided to give it a try (and Hela and Jormundgand wanted me to specifically honor a particular group of dead, even though I have no biological relationship to them).

I also do a monthly prayer set, on the Dark Moon (what I consider the first night of the Dark Moon) with Hela Prayer Beads by Raven Kaldera (from Her northernpaganism.org shrine). I’ve been meaning to share a picture of Her prayer beads forever, so I may one day do so. I also have a tumblr tag for Her (Hela), though I don’t have a physical shrine for Her (Her prayer beads are on my ancestral shrine).

Leave a Reply

