Mani

[I’m sharing how I’ve known and interacted with Everyone, starting with the Aesir. The Vanir will be next, then the Rokkr, and then the category where I put those Who don’t seem to pick just one category.]

I used to read a prayer set based on the lunar cycle and a nightly prayer to Him. Both have been removed from the online source because they’ve been included in a book. (It’s the same book that has the prayer set I do for Sunna, and I know I could cite it. I just need to hunt up the link again. Sometime soon.)

I mentioned doing a Getting to Know You thing for Sunna, and I was prompted to do one for Mani (I’ve finished it, but I need to go through the process of sharing all the information without turning it into a gigantic info-dump). I ‘got to know’ Him at the different lunar phases, so I have certain associations for each phase and differences in offerings and interaction level. This information will be most relevant to my path with Mani, but I figured it wouldn’t exactly hurt to share what I can for others who may want to have something to springboard off in coming up with offerings and such.

After a dream / mental scenario connected to a certain phase, things kind of clicked into place that Mani was using this Getting to Know Him process as a courting phase (for lack of a better word). It took a fair bit of divination to figure out what His goal was, in part, because I had already gone through some of the topics with m’Lady Sigyn (and wasn’t expecting another Deity to be interested in these topics as well).

Mani showed interest in a devotional power dynamic (post / page version of masterpost for this topic). Most people talk about their Deity being the Dominant, but it took me a bit to figure to what He was wanting because Mani didn’t want to be in that dynamic role. He actually wanted to be the Little in a Caregiver / Little dynamic. Devotional D/s already runs into preconceived notions from some, however I typically brace myself for extra strong opinions on this. I’m not saying that I’m better than, more powerful than, or superior to any Deity; this dynamic really only affects my personal relationship with Mani and does not have to bother anybody else’s relationship with Him (or Anyone else).

I have two daily prayers that tie in our power dynamic, and I used to read ten pages of a book to Him (every day while school wasn’t in session to once a week), in addition to not quite doing another nightly prayer every night. After the first devotional lockdown, we worked out a variation on the nightly prayer I was struggling to have the time to do every night that was easier to accomplish. Then the second devotional lockdown happened, and I’m in the process of rebuilding what I do (I actually worked up to doing quite a bit, but I can’t just jump back in at that same level, you know?).

I’ve started a sideblog shrine to Him, and while I do hope that it can provide some level of inspiration for those who don’t see a Face that’s a ‘child at heart’ / Little / etc., it is meant to share Cg / l content. All posts will be tagged sfw / nsfw, though it currently only has sfw posts. For those who may not want to check out the shrine, I have relevant tumblr tags (no Cg / l content): Mani*, Moon God.

In addition to the online shrine, I have a physical one (that Sunna and Mani kind of share). I shared it here on tumblr, and I’ve already packed it up (so I don’t have updated pics).

I decorated individual pieces of paper and taped them to this clear box that comes apart. It serves as His calming / comfort box, and the moon bracelet just sort of make sense. I’ve never been 100% sure where it came from, though. The poptart box is what I’ve been using to hold origami stars (part of a devotional act), and I associate various s’more (or marshmallow) flavored things with Him, so I definitely needed to use that flavor of box.

(Note: I’ve switched up that devotional method, so I currently use hand gestures only instead of needing to fold and keep origami stars. Hence being able to put this on His shrine at home and not taking it off to campus.

The black bag is just here to provide contrast for the bracelet and doesn’t relate to this shrine.)

Combining it all together on my headboard shelf. The thing between Maxi’s paws [the stuffed dog] is a watch. It still works despite losing the clasp and one of wristbands, so I thought it’d work here. When this picture was taken, the blue cup was holding two mint holiday Andes (for Mani).

Leave a Reply

