Kind Father, Njord (II)

Kind Father, Njord (II)

i.

Kind Father, Njord
who found Sigyn as a young child
alone and in need of love
who offered Your hand
who opened Your arms
to Her and took Her in
who showed Sigyn starfish
and taught Her about the ocean
who held Sigyn tight
during stormy nights
who wiped away the sand
from Her cuts
and pressed a fish band-aid
to Her skin
held in place by a kiss
who raised Sigyn
as Your own daughter

ii.

Please help me
to have the strength
to find a child
through adoption, IVF, or something else
to hold hir in my arms
and taker zher into my heart
to show zher the world
and to teach hir about life
to hold hir
during those stormy nights
to wipe away the dirt
from zher cuts
and press a band-aid
to zher skin with a kiss
Please help me to persevere
and raise hir
as my own child

iii.

Kind Father, Njord
please help me to love zher and take care of hir
to provide for all that zhe needs in life
as a caring, compassionate parent.
Bless me, Kind Father, Njord
and may Your blessings flow through me to my child.

[Thank you such as: Thank you for all that You have done, are doing, and will do.]

. . .

Variations – Currently no variations for part i.

ii. Teen

Please help me
to have the strength
to continue raising my child
to accept zher refusal
of physical signs of affection
not as a refusal of love
but as a wish for
me to let zher grow up
help me to love zher still
to hold zher tight
through the new storms*
to accept that I can’t
heal all wounds with a kiss
Please help me to persevere
to continue to raise
my child
my growing, changing teen

ii. Adult

Please help me
to have the strength
to let my child go
to understand
zher leaving
as a job well done
help to let zher try
to love, cry, make mistakes
to live zher own life
help me to hold zher
through the new storms
if zhe needs me to
and accept it when zhe doesn’t
Please help me
to let my adult-in-the-making
set sail into the waters of life
and explore new territory

iii. Adult

Kind Father, Njord
please help me to love zher and care for zher still
as zhe provides for zher own needs as an adult.
Bless me, Kind Father, Njord
and may Your blessing flow through me to my child.
Guide zher through these new waters safely.

. . .

* Other similar phrases can be used: the stormy weather/water/seas, the tempests, the hurricanes, the typhoons, the tsunamis. It just depends on how appropriate it is to your child. ‘Emotional’ can precede any of these. You can describe a current situation, regardless of how it adds to the line count, or use a different phrase if you wish. I can’t stop you from personalizing and making this more meaningful to you.

Leave a Reply

