Unexpected coal feels

Sometimes, I just watch shows on tv a bit randomly, like, the trailer seemed interesting, or it’s on a channel I watch with my family already. We’d been seeing trailers for From the Ashes a documentary on Nat Geo that looks at America’s relationship to coal, so we went ahead and gave it a shot tonight (9 – 10:30 pm with no commercials).

I wasn’t expecting this weird ache to set in. On the one hand, I definitely support efforts to reduce carbon emissions and not fuck over our planet. On the other hand, I can feel this sense of sadness. My dad’s side is from coal country in PA, and coal was pretty much the only job source in that town. It sucks that small, often rural towns that lost their peak job source years ago feel like they’re getting the short end of the stick. It hurts that townspeople get stuck with the shitty side effects of pollution and water contamination. Mostly, I don’t want Appalachia to get fucked over by the transition to renewable energy (thanks, Appalachian Regional Commission).

So, instead of just sitting through an informative documentary, I got hit with some ancestor feels and reminded of how gray this issue can be.

Leave a Reply

